Wednesday, March 11, 2020

Undeclared turning is unacceptable and dangerous!





All,

A few days ago I was at the Club and after getting reacquainted with some of the Club members, I settled in to watch a match. During the subsequent course of play, I witnessed a situation in the Doubles court that REALLY got my attention. So much so that I felt that I needed to write about it.

What was it? An undeclared "turning". 

Look at the above photo. If you're in the middle of a heated rally. can you ever imagine when your opponent is so out of position that the only way to strike the ball is to "turn" with you in his direct site?

Holy, Moly! 


Fortunately, no harm was done, but if the striker had either followed the struck ball's path into the back court, or allowed it to pass around him or her during the rally, retreated to play the ball, then attempted to strike the ball to the right of the body after the ball had passed to the left (or vice-versa) - then the striker “TURNED”. 

During a rally, if the opponent had been struck by the ball after the striker had turned (a perilous situation), the rally's ultimate outcome - a point - would have rightly been awarded to the defenseless OPPONENT. 

If the striker, while turning, halted play for fear of striking the opponent, then a LET would have been awarded - the recommended course of action and ruling in situations whenever a player wishes to strike the ball after turning but is unsure of the opponent’s position.

YES LET, as long as the turning player would have had a reasonable chance of hitting it. If the struck shot was too good and would not have come off the back-wall cleanly enough to be struck (and calling for a let was just a ploy to not lose the point) - NO LET.

Regardless, DECLARING one's intention prior to striking the ball while in the act of turning is paramount.  Announcing nothing while turning and then striking the ball is not sporting.

Be a good sport - call your LETS.

John

******


Related Links

Clearing, Lets, and No Lets

Are we ready to RUMMMBLE?  also, an essential doubles lesson

******

No comments:

Post a Comment